Weekly Writing Challenge: Love in the 21st Century

For this challenge, we want you to write about 21st-century love. We encourage you to get personal and share your own story, but if you don’t want to go that route, we welcome commentary, opinion, and even humor pieces on your definition of love in this modern age.

“Nothing is mysterious, no human relation. Except Love”
Susan Sontag on Love in her Illustrated Diary Excerpts: As Consciousness Is Harnessed to Flesh: Journals and Notebooks, 1964-1980

When I read the topic for this weeks writing challenge, I got excited and couldn’t wait to start putting my thoughts together. It was when I sat down to start writing this post did I realise how difficult it was. There were so many thoughts running through my head, and each on a different tangent. I didn’t know where to start. Sometimes things are just not as simple as being in plain black and white!

What I have for you here is a general post on this topic (my opinion and thoughts) as I would prefer not to write about my personal experiences. However, my experiences will obviously be influential in the framing of my thoughts.

Love in the 21st Century_quirkybrunette

Love to me cannot be defined. Love to me is not only for lovers.

Love can mean so many things, like love for your family, your children, your friends, your partner, your pet; love for a particular subject like art, philosophy, astronomy, gardening etc.; love for your country, love for a type of attitude in a person, the act of caring, an attraction to someone, the feeling of desire for another. Love can be giving up everything to be with someone, only to be left hurt and scathed, and still leave you caring. In the world we live in today, we also have love for materialistic things, like love for clothes or shoes, or a love for buying and/or collecting expensive paintings, it could also be defined as having a love for reading, a love for dancing, a love for painting. . .  and this is me just scratching the surface. . .

Love is anything that you want it to be.

Love is intangible.

Love is overrated.

Have your say! :)

